Émilie RANCES

Financial Engineer

My career

Chemistry and environment have been two components I did not want to separate, throughout my scholarly education. I chose my engineering school keeping this in mind.

Enrolling in ENSGTI in Pau in 2000 gave me access to a solid education in Process Engineering. I thus acquired knowledge of Water Treatment. In 2002, my engineering internship with Degremont UK (subsidiary of Suez Environnement) in London, has been a new stage for applying it and taking, for the first time, the direction of project management abroad. With this strength, I wanted to complete my education programme. In parallel with my third year of engineering school, I was enrolled in a Master’s degree in research, also in process engineering, on sites and soils polluted by heavy metals. The discovery of the world of research was crucial for my first professional experience in a company, even though I did not choose to do a PhD.

My job

My implication in the Junior Entreprise (Junior Company) of my school earned me the recruitement on the Lacq basin to contribute, as part of a team, in the development of an engineering department on Water Treatment for the VINCI group. I then joined the engineering consulting firm SOFRESID in Pau, subsidiary of SAIPEM, as Business Manager for EPC – Engineering Procurement Construction type projects within the framework of the construction of pipelines for the transport of natural gas for Total Infrastructures Gaz France. These 3 years allowed me, first, to work on the choice of layouts by coordinating a group of 3 companies – a joint venture (an engineering consulting firm in environment, a surveying firm, an engineering safety consulting firm). I supervised up to 25 people for the technical engineering and the detailed design studies and then launched the call for tenders and provided site supervision.

I wanted then to have an international career involving large-scale projects, also as a Business Manager. By joining the Middle East Business Line at Degremont, subsidiary of Suez Environnement, since 2008, I have participated in construction projects for seawater desalination plants using Inverse Osmosis and drinking water plants such as AL DUR in the Kingdom of Bahrain (220,000 m3/day) and RUSAFA in Iraq (910,000 m3/day). Finally, I was seconded on-site for several months within the framework of the construction of the BARKA (120,000 m3/day) plant in Oman.

Today, I work as a Financial Engineer for the Efficio performance plan at the headquarters of the GDF SUEZ group. I took this position in 2010, in parallel with continuing education at IAE in Paris. I finished my MBA in July 2011. Today, it is also possible to obtain this MBA at IAE in Pau, in parallel with an engineering diploma. In my opinion, this is a very timely synergy for students who would want to prepare themselves as engineers at ENSGTI.

In brief

ENSGTI allowed me to acquire a solid general engineering education to develop in areas I cared a lot about, both in the energy sector, and in environment. I subsequently developed the relevant operational professional experience which enabled me to obtain this position which requires both a transverse approach, and also in-depth, practical knowledge of the field.

Émilie RANCES

Ingénieur Financier

Mon parcours

La chimie et l’environnement ont été tout au long de mon parcours scolaire deux composantes que je n’ai pas souhaité dissocier. J’ai donc choisi mon école d’ingénieurs en ce sens.

Intégrer l’ENSGTI à Pau en 2000 m’a donné accès à une formation solide en Génie des Procédés. A ce titre, j’y ai notamment acquis des connaissances en Traitement des Eaux. Mon stage d’Ingénieur en 2002 chez Degremont UK à Londres, filiale de Suez Environnement, a été une nouvelle étape pour les appliquer et m’orienter pour la première fois vers la gestion de projets à l’international. Forte de cette expérience, j’ai souhaité compléter mon cursus. En parallèle de la troisième année effectuée à l’école d’Ingénieurs, j’ai suivi un DEA/master 2 en recherche, toujours en génie des procédés, sur les sites et sols pollués par les métaux lourds. Cette découverte du monde de la recherche, même si je n’ai pas choisi de m’orienter vers une thèse, a été capitale pour ma première expérience professionnelle en entreprise.

Mon métier

Mon implication au sein de la Junior Entreprise de l’école m’a value d’être recrutée sur le bassin de Lacq pour contribuer, en équipe, au développement d’un service d’ingénierie en Traitement des Eaux pour le groupe VINCI. J’ai ensuite rejoint toujours sur Pau en 2005, le bureau d’études SOFRESID, Filiale de SAIPEM, pour m’investir en tant que Responsable d’Affaires sur des projets de type EPC – Engineering Procurement Construction – dans le cadre de la construction de canalisations de transport de Gaz Naturel pour Total Infrastructures Gaz France. Ces 3 années m’ont permis dans un premier temps de travailler sur le choix des tracés en coordonnant un groupement de 3 entreprises – une joint venture (bureau d’étude en environnement, cabinet de géomètres, bureau d’étude en sécurité). J’ai encadré les études techniques d’ingénierie et de détail, jusqu’à 25 personnes, pour enfin lancer les appels d’offres et assurer la supervision des chantiers.

J’ai ensuite souhaité évoluer à l’International sur des projets de grande envergure, et ce, toujours en tant que Responsable d’Affaires. En intégrant la Business Line Moyen-Orient de chez Degremont, Filiale de Suez Environnement, j’ai participé à partir de 2008 à divers projets de construction d’Usines de Dessalement d’Eau de Mer par Osmose Inverse et d’Usines d’eau potable telles qu’AL DUR au Royaume du Bahreïn (220 000 m3/j) et RUSAFA en Irak (910 000 m3/j). Enfin, j’ai été détachée sur site plusieurs mois dans le cadre de la construction de l’usine de BARKA (120 000 m3/j) au Sultanat d’Oman.

Aujourd’hui, je travaille en tant qu’Ingénieur Financier sur le plan de performance Efficio au siège du Groupe GDF SUEZ. J’ai intégré en 2010 ce poste en parallèle d’une formation continue à l’IAE de Paris. En effet, je termine en Juillet 2011 mon MBA (Master Administration des Entreprises). Aujourd’hui, il est également possible d’obtenir ce MAE à l’IAE de Pau, en parallèle avec son diplôme d’ingénieur. Il s’agit à mon sens d’une synergie très opportune pour les étudiants qui souhaiteraient se former en tant qu’Ingénieurs à l’ENSGTI.

En résumé

L’ENSGTI m’a permis d’acquérir une solide formation d’ingénieur généraliste pour évoluer dans des domaines qui me tenaient à cœur et ce, tant dans le secteur de l’énergie que celui de l’environnement. J’ai par la suite développé une expérience professionnelle opérationnelle pertinente afin d’évoluer ensuite vers ce poste fonctionnel qui réclame une approche transversale mais également une bonne connaissance du terrain.